Finlay’s Hours: ‘Google’

A chronological collection of writing during my son’s first fortnight of life, in Neonatal ICU.

Google searches
That take you from misspelled search terms
To detailed mosaics of your worst fears.
Each blank bar:

A railroad window through recent streets of war
A submarine porthole approaching ocean floor
A shuttle-safe glimpse of infinite void
A window seat view during jumbo jet fall

Strap B
Strap B infection
Strep B infection
Streptococcal B newborn babies
Streptococcal B newborn babies meningitis
Meningitis symptoms
Meningitis symptoms babies
Meningitis effects newborns
Meningitis death newborns
Meningitis death newborns survival

I can only write this in the daylight.
(I’m typing this in the future)
I don’t know how strong I am.
I haven’t yet seen what I never imagined could drift into being.

-Unseen Flirtations

Leave a Reply

