Poetry: ‘Inverted Commas’

A poem I started about four months back, that accidentally spliced with something more recent, inspired by my browsings through the gift shop at Blackwell House (I think). The * was an accident on the page that came together nicely at second draft.

Yep, this is my life.

 -Unseen 

 

Inverted Commas

Don’t be fooled by ‘old’ people,
With their phrases and sayings
And wisdom received

From years of experience
Archaic*

Said William Morris
And I know what he means,
Know what he means,
In my Philip Larkin glasses,
Russell and Bromley suede
And skin-tight jeans.

*’I half wish that I had not been born with a sense of romance and beauty in this accursed age.’

 

Leave a Reply

