What I Taught Today: Collective Letter to the PM

During morning register, I was casually asking my tutor group what they had gotten up to over the weekend. It soon transpired that a good number of them had started fasting for Ramadan, the Muslim month of fasting and contemplation.

So I stop the register and ask all fasting students to come to the front to explain Ramadan in more detail. They did so, before fielding questions from the rest of the group.

Naturally, I thought it might be a good idea to watch a recent video message from Prime Minister David Cameron, in which he offers good wishes to British Muslims during the Ramadan period. Cynical as I am, it was impressive to see how intently and earnestly the kids listened to the message.

Of course, the next step was simple – write a collective letter to the Prime Minister in response to his message. Using the collective letter protocol, we wrote the following letter, together (the kids deciding what to write, me scribing on the whiteboard)

WP_20140630_008

Then I took a picture, printed it off, popped it into an envelope and posted it. (Let’s see if we get a response…)

Now, I know you may be thinking that I didn’t really teach anything here and you’re partly right, but it’s essential that we, as teachers, remember to put the experiences of our students at the fore of our interactions with them. It all comes down to the Relatedness strand of Self-Determination Theory: create a learning environment that your students feel essentially connected to.

 

So what did you teach today? Hashtag #WITT and let me know @unseenflirt on twitter.

Yours, in teaching,

-Unseen Flirtations

TES Teaching Resources

Leave a Reply

