Poetry: ‘Weird Beard’

For the 21st century beard renaissance.

 

Weird Beard

My uncle has a weird beard.
A big bristly brown weird beard.
A big spider’s nest bear’s claws bristly brown weird beard.
And it makes me scared.

I run away from him when he scoops me up
And wriggle and giggle but I don’t feel like laughing.
His weird beard is rough like grandma’s old carpet
And I do a mouth scream,
But no noises come out.

One day, I woke up
And daddy had a weird beard.
A big bristly brown weird beard.
A big spider’s nest bear’s claws bristly brown weird beard,
That I hadn’t seen before.
And I said:

“Uncle!”

And he laughed as I ran away.

At school,
At wet play,
I drew
With my crayons:
A picture of mummy
A picture of daddy
A picture of uncle
A picture of me
All with weird beards
And my teacher told me

It looked like scribble.

Leave a Reply

