Poetry: ‘Nine Rooms Ahead’

Form can wait.

-Unseen Flirtations

 

Nine Rooms Ahead

Left out the café – quick look behind – glance at the writers – ambling through – gift shop – left – quick look at the sky – sunlight on commerce – shiny.
Cool.
Jaunty step through to the darkest enclave – look left – what’s that? A fountain – cool –
quick sip – splash – oops, on the floor – four people just saw me look fool – cool.
Continue to walk – hello to the woman undoing her buttons – relax – just her jacket – I carry on through – this is a corridor toilets café and a cloakroom – cool –
Pause – dead end at the bottom of stairs – I ascend – up into the light –
cool –
“audio guide?” the man with the eye says to me as I glide right on through – cool –
“nah – I’m ok ,”– I say with a flick of my pen and continue my way looking back and then yep – the guy with the audio guides is looking right at me like – “who?” –
cool –
Not feeling the gallery – so left at the shop – it’s quiet – I stop for a moment to jot down my thoughts – the crash – a momentary lapse of attention and something collapsed – cool. I look over – worker is stacking a stack to display, it’s now on the floor – oops – maybe I’ll offer my services – nah – onwards – there’s new doors to go – through. Left at the exit and into a room populated by me, him and those – two – plus the attendant – sitting on throne – well, a chair – with an air of being no – ble. I’m over him now – I left him back there and I’m two rooms ahead on my own – cool – I’m over him now – I left him back there and I’m four rooms ahead on my own – cool– I’m over him now – I left him back there and I’m nine rooms ahead on my own – cool.

Leave a Reply

