Poetry: When I Was a Like

Note: to be sung in pubs in the 22nd century.

When I Was a Like

There was a time
When I was a Like
On my father’s Facebook page
On my father’s Facebook page?
On my father’s Facebook page!

Before he met
My mum and went
And got both of their status changed
Got both of their status changed?
Got both of their status changed!

My father joked
My mother poked
And tagged me in a picture set
Tagged me in a picture set?
Tagged me in a picture set!

And there we were
A family
In waiting, on the internet
Waiting on the internet?
Waiting on the internet!

When dad proposed
My mum supposed
To type that she was ‘off the shelf’
Type that she was ‘off the shelf’?
Type that she was ‘off the shelf’!

And sure enough
She posted up
And got a bunch of Likes herself
Got a bunch of Likes herself?
Got a bunch of Likes herself!

The pregnancy
Was meant to be
A secret at the very start
Secret at the very start?
Secret at the very start!

‘Til she let slip
When she let rip
With seven exclamation marks!
Seven exclamation marks?
“I’M PREGNANT!!!!!!!”
Exclamation mark!

-Flirtations, U

Leave a Reply

