Poetry: I’m a Poet

I’m a poet
(Note: I’ve made up a new word for this one. Justifiably so, I think. Enjoy)

I am a poet and there’s poetry in everything.
Taking notes on everything and every note can sing.

Every note can sing and every single note’s a sign.
Every sign refers to something else; imperfect rhyme.

If a rhyme I can find then I make the meaning.
Meaning I reside between the signs that I am reading.

It’s the reading that enables me to even write them:
Silent gaps of meaning flashing into rhyming lightning.

I’m the reason that the floor can see it’s not the ceiling.
I’m the reason that the opposites are now agreeing.

I’m a poet making notes. And I let them singn.
I’m a poet and there’s poetry in everything.

 

Leave a Reply

